smallspark

That’s all it takes to start something. One little spark….

The mural my nephew Jack inspired…

Posted by smallspark on September 13, 2007

Now speaking of art, I want to share this photo – i don’t know how much you can see… I painted this mural in my nephews bedroom. I can’t believe my sister let me do it, but she did. I did it right after he was born. He’s now 3 but I’m still super proud of it b/c it’s the first mural I ever did, and probably only the second time I’ve painted a room in my life. (I’m not sure how much you can see – the line in the near center is the corner of the wall….not some weird line I drew. )

 

I usually work with several colors of paint at once and blend the heck out of them as I go – this one I think I had about 6 paintbrushes going at once on the ladder since I was blending the sky down and making clouds. I’ve done paintings before and love it but nothing on this scale. Most of my usual paintings are kind of tiny, as I’ve never had much room to paint since I left school. I LOVE to paint. It’s a great outlet and I’m often surprised by what I end up with. This one really pleases me and I can’t wait until I have a reason to try another OR set up a studio. I wonder how I’m going to combine all the things I like to do in one studio??

 

 

 

Jacks Wall

Leave a Reply

 
